My name is Noel Walker and the church's name is the Tintern Church of Christ.

I came to Tintern when I was five years old. My family moved here from Hamilton. I became part of that congregation and grew up there. I was an active volunteer in the church’s education ministry. I was there for quite some time as a volunteer.

In 1989, I graduated from Great Lakes Christian High School here in Beamsville and went to Brock University to Teachers College. I got a degree in math and science, and a degree in education. At that time, there were no jobs available. But it just happened that Great Lakes was looking for a math teacher. It was a bit of a stretch for them at the time, financially speaking-- to add somebody to faculty. But they wanted me to start with them so I started in the fall of 1994 as a math and science teacher. I taught there for 11 years.

When I graduated from High School, I felt a call to ministry, and a call to teaching. I was trying to discern through the Spirit what the appropriate direction was, and the advice I was given at the time was to go get my degree, get my teaching certification, and if the call for ministry is still there, I could always change gears and go into that. One of my teachers at the time had said that the saddest thing he knows is people who are working in ministry in their mid-40s who feel like they can't do anything else. The not trained for anything else. They feel stuck. And that has turned out to be good advice.

So I taught for 11 years at Great Lakes, and then by about 2000 I started to feel a call to ministry and started looking at the possibilities of moving from teaching into a full-time ministry role. And about that time a position became available at Tintern. I applied, and through a long process, was hired to be an involvement minister at Tintern in 2005. That was the beginning of my full-time ministry at Tintern.