If you have an interest in writing, we have an interest in you. Talk to us about joining our team

Click here to find out how

(placeholder)

Promoting God's work, sharing God's resources

February 2017

My name is Jake Hron, and I am the pastor at Vineland Missionary Church. And actually, just this last Sunday, I celebrated three years of being a pastor here, so it actually marks 10 years of me being a pastor overall.

2 What is your favourite pastime: reading, sports, outdoors, etc.

Well, I love hiking with my family. We go and hike the Bruce Trail quite often. That's probably one of my favourite places. We love going to the Port Dalhousie merry-go-round. I love spending time with my family, going on long drives. And I like fishing.

3 Favourite all time (or current) Bible book, Bible story, or Bible passage, and why

That's a hard question! Over the years, it has changed. When I was younger, Ecclesiastes was my favourite. I studied philosophy, and Ecclesiastes is a great book in that regard. I really like the book of Colossians. It has the gospel, and yet also speaks to the practical aspects of life. As for more recently, I really like 1 John because of the emphasis on love. The most important thing is that if you don't love your brothers and sisters in the church, who you see, it's impossible to love God, whom you can't see. And so, our love of God is substantiated by our love for each other in the body of Christ. That's very meaningful to me.

Right now, I am really interested in 1 Timothy and 1 Thessalonians. They offer a lot of encouragement.

4 Briefly describe the series of events that brought you to your church, your current role, ministry in general